Yeeeeeehaw!

Happy Friday Y’all!

I previously posted about my son’s 1st birthday, where I also promised to share some of the details from a baby sprinkle that I recently hosted with a couple other mommy friends.

My cousin is pregnant with her 3rd, a baby boy! Her first two are adorable little girls, so this sprinkle was completely different. We decided to go with a Wild Western theme and asked guests to come dressed in their cowgirl best!

Because I was running around like a madwoman during the sprinkle, I didn’t get a chance to take pictures of as many details as I’d hoped, but I still got some nice shots!

Invitations: Sent via Paperless Post. They offer a lot of free options, as well as add-ons that you can pay for. You can customize the look of the envelopes, liners, and stamps even! You can also send actual paper invitations, but that’s a little more costly. This is my favorite way to send invitations and they make it very easy to track recipients, email addresses, and replies.

Custom Water Bottle Labels: Created by yours truly with my trusty Silhouette Cameo! I bought burlap print scrapbook paper from Michael’s and used that for the band. I then created little horseshoe medallions and glued them to each of the bands. This was such a quick and easy way to add some nice little details. If you’re not familiar with the Silhouette Cameo or other Silhouette America products, you have to check them out. This machine does so much! It sketched the horseshoes and cut out the medallions and bands. All I had to do was glue!

Custom Decor Pieces: Yes, you guessed it…created by moi with the life-changing Silhouette Cameo. I can’t rave enough about it! The Silhouette Store has designs that you can purchase for your library or you can create your own. I purchased the 3d cowboy hat, onesie, and boot designs and made them my own with different scrapbook paper and cardstock. I also created the banner using a flag design that came with the Silhouette software. Some of these things (like the 3d cowboy hat) take a long time to create and some might argue that just going to the store to buy decor would be much easier. 100%. It would have been WAY easier to run to the Dollar Tree and pick up some cowboy hats, but this hat was made with love and there is no other hat out there like it! Same with the onesie and the cowboy boots, but those didn’t require as much time. The last custom paper decoration I created was the prickly pear cactus. It wasn’t too labor-intensive and made for such a fun whimsical piece.

Main Backdrop: I set up the main backdrop using my cousin’s fireplace mantel. I bought bandanas from Amazon and used them as a background for the banner, as well as table runners. The little hay bales were purchased from Michael’s and my friend Traci made the diaper cake and attached cute things like a mustache pacifier, mini hand sanitizer, and the most adorable knit cowboy hat and boots purchased from Etsy. I bought some fake wheat/straw from Michael’s and put them in mason jars.

Food & Drink: American BBQ of course. We ordered BBQ ribs, chicken, chili, garlic bread, and salad for our mains. My aunt made some delicious deviled eggs and we had some yummy French pastries for dessert because our guest of honor loves her French pastries! We had an assortment of drinks including water, soda, juice, and tea.

Fun & Games: Everyone’s played the “Don’t Say Baby” game and I’m sure lots of people are familiar with guessing the baby food flavor and the poopy diaper game, so we researched some games that we’d never played before. beau coup had some great options, of which we decided on the Sloppy Diaper Relay. We didn’t end up having the relay as guests seemed to be perfectly happy chatting and just enjoying the food, so we didn’t want to bother them with too many organized activities. We set up a little station for guests to decorate bandana bibs at their leisure using fabric pens and puff paints. I also set up a a little “photobooth” in the backyard and used the green bushes as the backdrop and had a bunch of props, but this was a chatty group and not as many people took photos as I’d hoped!

Favors: Gold Sheriff’s badges (created with my Silhouette) and Smores Kits created by Traci.

This was a fun sprinkle to plan and I think the guests and our mama-to-be (or not quite, as this is her 3rd rodeo) really enjoyed themselves! It was a fun afternoon with family and friends celebrating and sharing the anticipation of this little cowboy’s arrival!

Enjoy!

P.S. If you don’t know what a sprinkle is (because a lot of people ask me what it is when I talk about it), check out Parenting.com‘s rundown!

Leave a comment